Ship managers

Local ship managers, returning superintendents Angkla

Support for the Angkla Party list group’s bid to regain a seat in Congress to represent the shipping industry through the upcoming polls in May continues to snowball among various shipping industry associations.

The latest industry groups to lend their support are the Ship Managers Association of the Philippines (SMAP) and the Marine and Technical Superintendent Association of the Philippines (MTSAP), whose officers and members recently met with the first designated attorney of ‘Angkla, Jesulito Manalo, and second candidate Capt Ronald Enrile.

During the meeting of the two groups via Zoom, the leaders of Angkla presented the five laws that the group was able to pass during the 16th and 17th Congresses, unheard of for a party list group for the first time in the House of Representatives. Among these laws which were drafted and sponsored by Manalo, a two-term Angkla representative, is Republic Act 10635, which centralized STCW functions at the Maritime Industry Authority (Marina), the first to be signed into law in the 16th Congress in record time for a bill. that has not been certified urgent by Malacañang.

Jesulito Manalo, first candidate of the Angkla party list, CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

The numerous reforms underway at the Marina on seafarer certification, maritime education and training undertaken by Administrator Vice Admiral Robert Empedrad would not have been possible without RA 10835 which empowered Marina on matters STCW.

Other laws enacted by Angkla are RA 10706 or the “Seafarers Protection Act”; RA 10698 or “Naval Architecture Modernization Act”; RA 10668 or the “liberalization of Philippine cabotage”; and the reduction of inheritance and donor taxes to 6% which were inserted into RA 10963 or the Trains Act.

The laws, however, remain relatively unknown to many, as they focus more on seafarers and the maritime industry, apart from the generous reduction in inheritance and donor taxes. The lack of information about these laws was confirmed by Luis Laurente, managing director of ship management company Swan Shipping Corp., who expressed surprise at the meeting at the significant achievements of the party list group in during the last two congresses.

Other members of SMAP appreciated RA 10706 or the “Seafarers Protection Act” also known as the “Anti-Ambulance Chasing Law”, which criminalizes the practice of ambulance chasing. They pointed to the negative effect of the widespread practice of ambulance hunting on the workforce sector. “[Because of these ambulance-chasing lawyers]seafarer claims exceeded cargo claims, at one point,” commented Captain Neopol Salvador, former Director of Maritime Operations and Commercial Operator and currently Dean of Maritime Education at MOL-Magsaysay Maritime Academy, who facilitated the joint virtual meeting.

Manalo also revealed that during the 17th Congress, he succeeded in inserting more than 1 billion pesos into the budget of the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), which included 360 million pesos for the construction of the current marina and about 150 million pesos for maritime scholarships. schools.

Thanks to these achievements, Angkla was able to win the confidence of the two groups who declared their full support for the group’s re-election bid. “SMAP and MTSAP will support Angkla 100%,” said CE Vicente Pono, President of SMAP.

Although their members are relatively small, the two industry groups play an important role in the nation’s maritime industry for advocating for the development of the local ship management business which is booming globally amidst the pandemic.

SMAP, which has 13 member companies managing more than 110 vessels operating locally and overseas, is led by CE Pono, President of Magsaysay-MOL Shipmanagement Inc.

Meanwhile, MTSAP is led by its President, Engr. Rey Eustaquio, managing director of Seashore Shipmanagement and Marine Services Corp. Angkla Vice President Captain Enrile is one of the founders of SMAP and MTSAP and was recently appointed to the MTSAP Board of Directors.